Beast Species in Pandemonium | World Anvil
BUILD YOUR OWN WORLD Like what you see? Become the Master of your own Universe!


Any animal that is born with at least one open vita point, or one which opens a vita point throughout its life, is a beast. Strong creatures, intelligent and deadly, they all have some sort of ability that makes them particularly dangerous as compared to regular animals. All animals have three vita points and can open, empower, and concentrate vita through them if given enough time and life experience. Each stage of development, after the first, will cause the beast to grow an additional "tail," with a maximum of nine. These "tails" can be an extra head, wings, arms or legs, or even an actual tail. Those with 1-3 tails are lesser beasts, 4-6 tails are greater beasts, and 7-9 tails are superior beasts. Greater and superior beasts are known by other names as well. The Sartrix call them Dafsir, the Druids call them Totems, and the Clergy call them Fiends. They can be found across the world, but in exceptionally great numbers around the Arresadi River and other such high vita areas.   Those who open the first point gain the ability to strengthen and fortify itself. By empowering that point they can affect their senses and perceptions. And by concentrating vita through it they gain special abilities including physical transformation. The second point allows for tricking their preys' senses when opened and reaching out to their mind when empowered with a stare or roar. Concentrating vita through it allows for affecting the targets vita and gaining some measure of control over their physical form. Opening the third point allows them to see their true name and begin to empower their other points, as well as begin to interact with the astral plane thus extending their abilities in an aura. Empowering the third point itself allows them to project vita effects of the mind and spirit, and concentrating that vita allows for affecting the vita itself. If they learn to use the dream vehicle their spirit can sometimes walk the waking world free from their bodies.   Once they have manifested all nine "tails", they can no longer sustain themselves with food alone and must consume vita itself.   Common abilities: beasts generally gain a single ability for opening their first vita point.
  • Strength, Speed, Agility, Constitution, Endurance
  • Sight, Smell, Hearing, Taste, Touch, Feeling
Common effects: affects the body, mind, spirit, or vita of others.
  • Weaken, Provoke, Sensitivity, Heal
  • Daze, Confuse, Stun, Sleep
  • Pacify, Surprise, Delight, Anticipate, Grieve, Terrorize, Enrage, Disgust
  • Drain, Poison, Burn, Shock, Freeze, Petrify, Control

Additional Information

Uses, Products & Exploitation

Used as weapons by the Ban Fellowship and by the Church of the Great Mother. The Druid Circle seeks to coexist with and support them, but will use them as weapons if necessary.

Perception and Sensory Capabilities

Through their first vita point they can greatly increase their natural physical senses as well as develop special abilities for the purpose. Abilities such as night vision, echo location, thermal tasting, and the like are not uncommon. Through their third point they can see the vita threads and patterns themselves, and sense spiritual beings.
Every "tail" grown extends their natural lifespan by up to 100 years
Average Physique
Lesser beasts appear as standard animals, if a bit large with extra tails. While greater beasts take on a larger form and can sometimes manifest specialized appendages and abilities. Superior beasts begin to take a more monstrous form. Once all nine tails have manifested, they can change their form at will. Even taking bipedal hominid form to freely move in civilization.
Body Tint, Colouring and Marking
Greenish hue to their fur, violet eyes, and amber teeth, claws, and horns.
Geographic Distribution
Related Ethnicities
Related Myths

Articles under Beast


Please Login in order to comment!