What is a subscriber?A subscriber is somebody who can read the secrets and other private content in your world. Take a look at the Guide to Secrets to learn what they are and how they work. You can also make your world private as a whole, and then make certain articles viewable by your subscribers. You can have several groups with subscribers, meaning that you can give different secrets to different groups of subscribers. The higher your Guild rank, the more subscribers you can have.
Setting up subscribers
1. Create a subscriber groupSubscribers are organised in subscriber groups. To create one, click the button with the padlock icon at the bottom of the sidebar:
- Visibility: make the group name invisible from their subscribers.
- Self assigning: let your readers assign themselves to a subscriber group (see below for more information).
- Default: if you want all of you private articles to be available to this group by default, check this box. Any players you invite to a campaign of this world will be automatically added to the default group.
- Edit: it will take you to a page to edit the group's settings (title, description and position).
- Subscribers: it will show you who is part of this group.
- Group Assets: it contains a list of all pages that this group can view.
- Self-assignable button: this will copy a BBCode tag that you can paste anywhere to generate a button. If any logged-in reader clicks the button, they'll be added to the group.
- Subscriber container: paste these tags anywhere. Anything you write between them will be visible to members of this subscriber group only.
2. Adding subscribersAfter you have created a group, you can start adding subscribers to it. Select Subscribers and use the sidebar to add a subscriber to a group. Note that the subscriber needs a World Anvil account. You can add a subscriber to multiple groups, but all subscribers need to be in at least one group.
Making content available to subscribers
Articlesbutton and choose from the list of subscriber groups. To remove a group, click the red button next to the group you want to remove. The article will then be visible to you and the selected group(s) only.
SecretsSecrets are always private. When creating them, you can optionally choose subscribers groups so that they can see the secret. If you don't choose any, only you and your co-authors will be able to see it. When creating a secret, you can choose one or more groups from the list. Afterwards, you can also edit the secret and change the subscriber groups, of course.
CategoriesYou can also give your subscribers access to an entire category. To do so, go edit your category and, at the bottom of the page, set it as Private and choose the subscriber group. See also: Guide to Creating and Using Categories
MapsMaps have different parameters to set their level of privacy. You can make the whole map available to subscribers only from the Map Settings (Display & Privacy) tab you will find in the map edit page:
TimelinesTimelines as a whole can also be hidden from everyone except subscribers. Edit your timeline and edit the visibility setting in the Edit Timeline box of the right sidebar. Note that you will have to click on Show advanced options to see the visibility settings (they will show up at the bottom of the section). You can do the same for individual historical entries, from their respective edit pages. See also: Guide to Timelines
ImagesFinally, images can also be private. At the bottom of the image edit page (or when you are first uploading it), you can find the usual visibility settings. In both cases, you will have to click the Show advanced options link to edit visibility settings. See also: Guide to Images
Self-assignable groupsYou can also let your readers to assign themselves into a specific subscriber group. To do so, go to the Subscriber groups section of the Access Rights page and click the copy button next to the name of the group you want to make self-assignable: This will copy a BBCode tag into your clipboard that you can paste in any BBCode-enabled text field of your world (it will look something like [subgroup:GROUP-ID|WORLD-ID]). Use the following syntax to generate the result in the screenshot below: [subgroup:XX]Party[/subgroup] (replace the first tag by the proper one you have copied). When a logged-in reader clicks on Party, they will be added to the subscriber group and the checkbox will be filled with a check mark.
Access codesThis feature allows you to send an access code to someone so that they can activate their subscription to your world without you adding them manually. In your world's Access Rights page, select "Subscriber Access Codes" and fill in the sidebar. You will need to have created at least one subscriber group. The empty form looks like this:
Adding subscribers through email
An easy way to share content only with a specific group of people.
Guide to Authors
Got a friend? Have them help you work on your world by adding them as an author.