Danubia Organization in The Broken Path | World Anvil



Only the rest of the world calls this territory Danubia. The rulers themselves prefer to think of it as simply, "our lands". These are the lands the Habsburgs have control over directly, and not through their frequent role as Holy Roman Emperors.   Originally, the lands under the Habsburg Monarchy were a scattering of independent provinces ruled by various members of the expansive family. Centralization really came underway in the early 17th century under the direction of Holy Roman Empress Maria Theresa, but there was still significant resistance to these reforms by rulers who wished to remain independent.   The distinction between Danubia and the Holy Roman Empire is subtle but important. Danubia is ruled by the successor of the Habsburg family, while the Holy Roman Empire is rules by an emperor elected by the various Electors of its composite states. In practice, the emperor is almost always a Habsburg, but there are a few exceptions.   States within the Holy Roman Empire are forbidden from being kingdoms; there is to be no monarch but the emperor. Danbia spans both inside and outside the borders of the empire. Within the empire, the Habsburgs are Archdukes of Danubia. Outside, they are Kings of Danubia. And generally, the Archduke and King of Danubia is also the Holy Roman Emperor.   Despite its byzantine organization structure, Danubia remains one of the most powerful states in Europe. Brama Cave, a gateway to the afterlife, is within their territory after being taken from Poland in 1556. A number of death pathways cross through Danubia, giving them a seemingly endless supply of vesanmer to power industry and weaponry.


Danubia is scattered, but generally consists of 4 main blocs:   The Hereditary Lands, found in central Europe especially along the Danube, hence the name. They lost territory to Almany during the Great Peasants' War in the 16th century. The Hereditary Lands include:
  • Archduchy of Austria
  • Inner Austria
  • Outer Austria
  • Grand Duchy of Salzburg (only after 1805)
  The Lands of the Bohemian Crown, formerly the independent Kingdom of Bohemia:
  • Kingdom of Bohemia
  • Margraviate of Moravia
  • Duchy of Upper and Lower Silesia.
  The Kingdom of Hungary. Large amounts of eastern Hungary were taken by Wallachia, leaving the Habsburgs with only the northern and western fringes of the kingdom.   Kingdom of Croatia   They currently also have territory along the Almain Sea in the Austrian Netherlands.

Fiat iustitia, et pereat mundus
Let justice be done, though the world perish

Official Religion
Founding Date
Geopolitical, Archduchy
Alternative Names
Habsburg Monarchy, Austrian Monarchy
Government System
Monarchy, Absolute
Neighboring Nations

This article has no secrets.