Goblin Vodun

Tenets of Faith

The Goblin Vodun states that creation consists of three phases: Creation, Protection and Growth and Destruction, which form a cricle which always has to happen in this order. Before Creation can happen, there has to be Destruction, Something that was created needs protection to become stable and meaningful, and only after it had it meaning fulfilled may it fall to destruction. The Goblins call this the "Circle of Life", and it is represented in Rada (Goblin Vodun Rune Scripture) as three arrows, one white (Creation) one green Protection and Growth), and one Black (Death and Destruction).  
Goblin Vodun Rune (Rada) of the Circle of Life
  Each of the Ghola (Spirits) which are worshipped in the Goblin Vodun come in one of these three forms:
  • Dhemba: Creation and Fertility
  • Kekma: Protection and Growth
  • Khamba: Death and Destruction


Gholas can be summoned by anyone who knows their Rada (the rune or symbol which represents them), and the sacrifices that each Ghola demands. Whenever a Goblin does something which strengthens the idea that a Ghola represents, he or she can draw the symbol and devote the deed to them. Whenever the goblin wants to ask a Ghola for a favor, he sacrifices one thing that this Ghola demands after having drawn they Gholas symbol. The interaction with or through an ogoun or is not necessary, each goblin can do this worship on their own, provided they learned the correct Rada and the necessary sacrifice from an ogoun.   Depending on what the Goblin wishes for, he has to summon the right variant of the Ghola Spirit though (Dhemba, Kekma or Khamba), which again varies the things that have to be sacrificed. If a Goblin wishes for Rain to water the crops, he can ask Sister Dhemba-Kekene (Kekene for Creation), the Ghola of Water, whereas a flood to flush away enemies would rather fall into the responsibility of Sister Khamba-Kekene (Kekene for Destruction).   Each Ghola represents a specific aspect of Life, and because life has many aspects, as Goblins put it, there is a huge number of possible spirits to be called upon, each in the three variants of Kekma, Khamba and Dhemba. A Ghola, when referred to, is always denoted as either Sister or Brother, depending on the perceived sex.   As Goblins have spread over the continent their worship diversified, and today Gholas which may be important to one tribe, may be completely unknown to another. There are Gholas however which are almost universally revered. These are
  • Sister Kakalla , the Ghola of Nature and Wildlife
  • Brother Ghoura, the Ghola of the Sky and Wind
  • Sister Hisrine, the Ghola of Fire and Warmth
  • Brother Ikanki, the Ghola of ice and Cold
  • Brother Jikupu, Ghola of Stories, Music and Games
  • Sister Kalesti, Ghola of Truth and Lie
  • Sister Kekene, Ghola of Water
  • Brother Lardo, Ghola of Harvest
  • Brother Lakamp, Ghola of Crossroads and Decisions
  • Sister Mokkolanti , the Ghola of War
  • Brother Rokmaruk , the Ghola of Earth and Stone


All priests (Ogoun/a) of the faith are referred to Mama or Papa, depending if they are male or female. Ogouns and Ogounas are respected by their goblin brethren for their vast knowledge about the spiritworld and their good contact to the Ghola spirits. Because Ghola Spirits represent ideas, Humans have, deliberatelty or accidently, misinterpreted the Goblin Vodun as a form of demon worship in the past, especially thanks to the documented technic of ogouns to summon the Gholas spirits and let themself be possessed, such that they can speak through them.

Cover image: by Dungeon Masters Guide 5e p. 109


Please Login in order to comment!