Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

Human Religion in Imminar

Humanity in Imminar comes from a shared tradition, originating, as most scholars believe, in or near the city of Menagion in Tolarth. This article details the common "orthodox" common conception of the gods, a conception shared, with few changes, across all the Five Nations. This orthodoxy is strongest in the more centrally located of these, geographically; for example, in Tolarth and Palisana. Different ideas become more frequent at the fringes of human society; for example, in the realms of Kizian and Patino, and where human lands border on those of other races, such as the edge of The Heartwoods.   The deities most commonly worshiped by humans are arranged into four smaller pantheons of seven gods each, with each pantheon of gods related by the goals and ideals they uphold. Each pantheon is typically visualized as one of the points on a four-pointed star, with points in the north, south, east, and west directions (when drawn on the ground), or the up, down, left, and right directions (when drawn on a wall or page). Both good and evil deities are included, but rarely are the evil deities worshiped. In fact, the south or downwards point of the star is often left out or downplayed, symbolic of an attempt to remain distant from evil.   The gods in each pantheon are as follows:  

The High Pantheon (north / up)

  So named for the high ideals its deities embody, the High Pantheon is most widely worshiped in a general sense. The portfolios of these gods are broad, and apply to the lives of most humans; consequently, they are seen as the most important and powerful gods of the world.  
  • Helm, god of protection
  • Ilmater, god of endurance
  • Pelor, god of the sun
  • Selune, goddess of the moon
  • Torm, god of courage and self-sacrifice
  • Tymora, goddess of good fortune
  • Tyr, god of justice

The Old Pantheon (west / left)

  The members of the Old and New Pantheons are not literally older or newer gods; rather, this naming symbolizes the common themes of their portfolios. The Old Pantheon's gods are concerned with nature and tradition, the preservation of the things of old, and a focus inwards, towards self-reliance.  
  • Azuth, god of wizards and secret knowledge
  • Celestian, god of stars and wanderers
  • St. Cuthbert, god of common sense and zeal
  • Kelemvor, god of the departed
  • Lathander, god of birth and the cycle of life
  • Mielikki, goddess of forests
  • Silvanus, god of wildness and nature

The New Pantheon (east / right)

  In contrast to the Old Pantheon, the portfolios of the gods of the New Pantheon are concerned with civilization and progress. They encourage an outward focus, on society and the interaction of the people within it, and an outlook towards the future.  
  • Chauntea, goddess of agriculture
  • Deneir, god of the written word
  • Gond, god of craftsmanship
  • Kord, god of athletics and sport
  • Savras, god of divination and fate
  • Sune, goddess of love and beauty
  • Waukeen, goddess of trade

The Dread Pantheon (south / down)

  Though the gods of the Dread Pantheon are rarely worshiped (openly), their presence and influence on the world is near-universally acknowledged by humans. Their portfolios are dark and evil, but in many ways, so is life for many people; there is no use denying it.  
  • Bane, god of tyranny
  • Loviatar, goddess of pain
  • Malar, god of the hunt
  • Myrkul, god of death and decay
  • Shar, goddess of darkness and loss
  • Umberlee, goddess of the sea and storms
  • Vecna, god of evil secrets

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild