BUILD YOUR OWN WORLD Like what you see? Become the Master of your own Universe!

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

The Calendar

The calendar in The Five Worlds originates from Ordin . It has 27 months and spans across two years (two full seasons).  

Celestial Bodies

The calendar is based on the three celestial bodies; the sun and the two moons, monn and tongg.   The two moons are binary moons, which means that they orbit around each other, and share athe same external orbit around the world.   The actual orbits of the celestial bodies are unknown, as The Five Worlds are considered to be five district worlds in different dimensions. What is known is that all the worlds have the same sun and moons and that they are on the sky exactly the same in all worlds all the time. When the sun is at it's highest in one world, it is also in the four others.   The sun and moons also all change the movement throughout the year, moving clockwise. They always go across the sky from one end to the opposite end, and the rate of change each day is the same, but the rate of change is different for each world. For instance, in Ordin, the first day of the calendar, the sun goes from north to south, but in Wirmór the sun goes from north to south every 178 days. The lunar cycle is the same in all the five worlds, regardless of where they rise and set.  


The calendar is a lunar calendar. The most noteworthy aspect of the calendar is duality, which stems from there being two moons.   A year has 27 months, each month has 27 days. In total 729 days. Each year is broken down in seasons of 6 months with some exceptional months in between:   Irdágin are the six months of summer and Kvenndágin are the six months of winter. Between the summer and winter months there is a month called sóltarn, the turning of the sun.   A full summer and winter cycle therefore consists of 13 months, and the first cycle of a year is called the monn cycle and the second year is called tongg cycle, though people rarely distinguish the two cycles apart. Between the 13 months og the first cycle and the 13 months of the second cycle, there is a 14th month, which belongs to both cycles, called sithlága, the days of rest.
Number Name Cycle
1 Thorr Irtágin of monn
2 Skápa Irtágin of monn
3 Sáfne Irtágin of monn
4 Ila Irtágin of monn
5 Vinntarn Irtágin of monn
6 Heyárin Irtágin of monn
7 Sóltarn
8 Esvatn Kvenntágin of monn
9 Garli Kvenntágin of monn
10 Kvinnóm Kvenntágin of monn
11 Yil Kvenntágin of monn
12 Fresóm Kvenntágin of monn
13 Márgsógi Kvenntágin of monn
14 Sithlága
15 Thorr Irtágin of tongg
16 Skápa Irtágin of tongg
17 Sáfne Irtágin of tongg
18 Ilá Irtágin of tongg
19 Vinntarn Irtágin of tongg
20 Heyárin Irtágin of tongg
21 Sóltarn
22 Esvatn Kvenntágin of tongg
23 Garli Kvenntágin of tongg
24 Kvinnóm Kvenntágin of tongg
25 Yil Kvenntágin of tongg
26 Fresóm Kvenntágin of tongg
27 Márgsógi Kvenntágin of tongg

The Months

Each month consists of 27 days and has the same stucture as the year. One week consists of 6 days: Skyoltág, Nyorátág, Skoggitág, Vártág, Reytág and Eyntág; where the seventh day between two weeks is called Lyóstág. The 14th day of a month is called Monntarn, and the 15th start the cycle again with a sic day week with Skyoltág.

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild


Please Login in order to comment!