The Land of Hyrule Geographic Location in The Land of Hyrule | World Anvil
BUILD YOUR OWN WORLD Like what you see? Become the Master of your own Universe!

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

The Land of Hyrule

Hyrule is the entire continent that is encompassed by the Hyrule Ocean in the north and southeast, the Gerudo Desert in the southwest, and the Great Unknown Canyons in the north and northwest. The continent is about 80 miles across and 60 miles wide with an area of 4,800 sq. miles (not including the oceans) and contains over 100 mountains and over 120 bodies of water. It is split into 10 regions, Central Hyrule, West Hyrule, Tabantha, Hebra, Eldin, Gerudo, Necluda, Lanayru, Akkala, and Faron, each with a distinct climate, many unique creatures, and is home to six different races of people.  

Central Hyrule

Central Hyrule is the central-most region of Hyrule and the home of most of the continent's Hylian population. It is considered the capital region of the land and is dominated by flat plains and is bordered by the Hylia River in the east and the Regencia River to the west. It has a temperate climate with four distinct seasons, is very windy, and has hot and humid summers and cold winters. On average, 45 inches of precipitation falls in Central Hyrule every year, and the area is prone to strong thunderstorms that blow in from West Hyrule.  

West Hyrule

West Hyrule is directly west of Central Hyrule, sandwiched neatly between the Regencia River and the Tanagar Canyon. It is extremely prone to violent thunderstorms as is often referred to as the Thunder Plains. It receives about 30 inches of precipitation per year and has mild summers and cool winters. Not many people populate this region due to its volatile weather, but it is home to the sacred Satori Mountain, a popular destination for mountain-climbers, tourists, and adventure-seekers.  


The Tabantha region is the home of the Rito race, the youngest race of Hyrule. It is known for its extremely harsh winters and almost non-existent summers, and snows here almost as much as it does in the Hebra mountains. It is split into two distinct areas, the Rito Range and the Tabantha Snowfields. The Rito Range is, as the name suggests, home to the Rito, as well as its famous Cuho Mountain and several large and deep lakes. The snowfields are where the region receives the majority of its snow coverage and is a permanently frozen tundra that is directly downwind from the Hebra Mountains.  


The Hebra region, also known as the Hebra Mountain Range, is a harsh and unforgiving mountainous tundra and the northwesternmost region of Hyrule. As famous shield-surfer Selmie Agoc once said: "THIS. MOUNTAIN. WILL. KILL. YOU!" While it is home to Selmie's Shield-Surfing Lodge, it is too harsh to sustain a sizable population of people. However, it is teeming with plant and animal life that are built to sustain the cold, and it holds the largest ice monster community in Hyrule.  


Eldin is Hyrule's volcanic region and is famous for Death Mountain, the tallest mountain on the continent and most active and volatile volcano. The region is also home to the rock-eating, heat-loving race of the Goron. Weather in Eldin is nearly nonexistent, and it can reach temperatures of over 200 degrees (F) in Goron City. The lakes are on fire, the land is on fire, even the very air is on fire in Eldin, and you too will be on fire unless special precautions are taken to protect yourself from the extreme heat.   Before the Kingdom of New Hyrule was established and changed the definitions of the region, what is now known as "North Hyrule" used to be part of the Eldin region. This area included the badlands of the north, right next to the northern Great Unknown Canyon, as well as the Great Hyrule Forest, home of the Great Deku Tree and the Korok race. Rain in the badlands is minimal at under 10 inches per year but shoots back up to 20 inches in the forest area.  


The Gerudo region contains the Gerudo Desert, Gerudo Canyon, and the Gerudo Highlands, and is the home of the Gerudo race. The entire region is a harsh wasteland with the canyon and desert receiving less than 5 inches of precipitation per year. The canyon maintains high temperatures while the desert is blisteringly hot during the day and impossibly cold at night year round. The Highlands is the second coldest area of Hyrule and receives almost all the percipitation of the entire region. It is frozen in the fall and winter months but thaws out somewhat in the spring and summer months.  


Necluda is a region that is usually split into two subregions: East and West Necluda. The entire region is almost as temperate as Central Hyrule but tends to have milder summers, especially in East Necluda, and reives quite a bit more rain, up to 30 inches a year. Necluda is home to the famous Dueling Peaks Mountain, a mountain that was split almost cleanly in half by the Squabble Rive that continues to run right through it, as well as the equally famous Mt. Lanayru, both in West Neculda and East Necluda respectively. West necluda is populated by the Sheikah in Kakariko Village, while East Necluda is most heavily populated by Central-Hylians in Hateno Village.   East Necluda has one of the three beachfronts of Hyrule, right by the Necluda Sea, and overlooks the tropical Eventide Island.  


Lanayru is a wetland and the home of the Zora people. It is one of the wettest regions of Hyrule and receives 70 inches of rain a year. It has mild yet humid and rainy summers and cold winters, and is dotted by many freshwater lakes, rivers, and waterfalls, a perfect environment for the average Zora. The region almost completely contained within mountain range that is rich in luminous stone ore, and the only way into the region for a non-Zora is through the Zora Trail in the southwest. Lanayru is home to the Rutala Dam, also known as "the only thing keeping Central Hyrule from flooding every summer", and Shatterback Point, a famous diving spot that absolutely will kill you if you do not execute a proper diving technique.  


Akkala is the region to the northeast and is famous for being underpopulated and the most ecologically diverse of the other regions. It is a low-lying plain with few mountains to protect from the devasting thunderstorms that plague the area, although not to the same extent that they do West Hyrule. The region is lined with forests as far as the eye can see, and has mild, rainy summers and cold winters, and receives up to 40 inches of rain per year. Because so few people live in the region, it has become a haven for monsters and reclusive people who like the wide open space and quiet atmosphere. It borders the Akkala Sea to the east and overlooks the mysterious Lomei Labyrinth Island and the High-Rise Isles, and is also home to the Akkala Citadel.  


The rainiest and humid region of Hyrule, the region of Faron is home to tropical rainforests, the Faron Sea beachfront, Lake Hylia, and beautiful vistas of mountains, rivers, waterfalls, and ancient ruins. Faron receives a whopping 120 inches of rain per year and is hot and humid year round, making it the perfect place for its multitudes of exotics fruits and vegetables. The Faron Sea is teeming with fish and beautiful coral reefs, and the mountains are perfect places to witness the region's untouched beauty and potential. The Farian-Hylian folk make their home here in Lurelin Village, and the deep forests hide ruins that tell tales of a different time in Hyrule's vast history.
Included Locations

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

Guild Feature

Display your locations, species, organizations and so much more in a tree structure to bring your world to life!


Please Login in order to comment!