BUILD YOUR OWN WORLD Like what you see? Become the Master of your own Universe!

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

Official Power Grade System

Despite this system being official, it is still somewhat subjective depending on the judge. Therefore, it is recommended that multiple judges of powers examine a case before a power grade is determined.   Power grades may change over time.   We are currently working on a way to turn away from the currently subjective system.
New Verum sector of the International Hero’s League
  A power grade is an assignment of a level or number to an individual’s powers. It’s usually based on strength, usefulness, and overall danger. A judge of power- generally any official that is licensed to determine someone’s power grade- is needed for a grade to be determined. This license can be earned at a local league of heroes or villains.


To acquire a grade, one must have super powers of some kind. Super Powers must be acquired by Suprium radiation or exposure, or by other means that alter one’s biology or abilities. Super powers must be beneficial in some way, even if it is obscure. People with super powers are referred to as ‘supers’, and can range from level 1 to level 5.  

Level 1

  Level 1 supers are the least powerful. In fact, if they weren’t, by definition, supers, they would have been considered civilians. Level 1 powers are usually highly circumstantial, and even then may not help much, and are therefore not required to even register as a known super. It’s theorized that at least 60% of the civilian population is level 1 on the grade system, and they simply haven’t registered.   Level 1 power examples include, but are not limited to:  
  • Good luck when searching for a certain item of personal value
  • Reading body language well
  • Remembering trivial trivia with above average skill
  • Being able to hear an above average frequency compared to others
  • Level 2

      Level 2 supers are slightly more powerful than level 1 supers, but still are not required to register, although it is recommended. This level of power is somewhat circumstantial, but gets the job done nonetheless. Level 2 supers tend to do jobs that cater to their abilities, and are occasionally even hired specifically for their powers.   Level 2 power examples include, but are not limited to:  
  • Low-level empathy ability, such as feeling a strong emotion of someone near you
  • Low-range/low-power magnetic field
  • Heating and cooling objects by a few degrees, up to 5 degrees as a guideline
  • Level 3

    Level 3 supers are required to register their powers. The registration process is completed at a government facility, usually a local support center for supers, and requires a description of one’s powers and how they, to one’s best ability, acquired them. At this level and above, a super may officially be considered a Caped Super if they wish. A Caped super is an umbrella term for a super hero or super villain, or a super rank in-between. Level 3 powers aren’t bound by situation, but still aren’t helpful at some or many times. 

   Level 3 power examples include, but are not limited to:
  • High level empathy abilities, able to feel even slight changes in emotion
- Light mind reading, able to read conscious and active thoughts 
- Power boosting, able to boost the strength of nearby supers’ powers within a certain radius or at a touch

  • Power cancelling, able to stop the usage of a power when it makes contact with the super
  • Level 4

    Level 4 supers are also required to register their powers, or risk being apprehended by local law enforcement. They are considered amongst most dangerous supers categorically, second only to Level 5 supers. Level 4 powers are not bound by situation, and tend to be helpful in most situations. A lot of harm can be done with Level 4 powers as well.   Level 4 power examples include, but are not limited to:
  • Powers that create AND manipulate the semi-prevalent elements (ex: ice, fire, water, air, etc.)
  • Powerful suggestion abilities, semi-hypnosis, NOT mind control
  • Teleportation
  • Flight
  • Level 5

      Level 5 supers must register their powers, or face retribution from international law enforcement, including rehabilitation at The Box. Supers at this level are few and far between, but even then they are sometimes under surveillance if they prove or are suspected to be dangerous. Level 5 powers are not bound by situation, are useful in almost all circumstances, can be incredibly dangerous if left unchecked, and use of these powers may alarm the public.   Level 5 power examples include, but are not limited to:
  • Control of prevalent elements (ex: light, shadow, energy, etc.)
  • Mind control
  • Major telepathy
  • Energy absorption
  • Weather control
  • Future sight
  • Type
    Civic, Political

    Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild


    Please Login in order to comment!