BUILD YOUR OWN WORLD Like what you see? Become the Master of your own Universe!

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

Religion in Rania

Rania was once overrun by evil and chaos until the Gods descended from their home planes and walked the land, saving and guiding humanity towards a more free and better way of living. Feeling a great debt of gratitude, the races of Rania raised temples and led religions revering the Gods, though they did not live in peace for long and one day, the Gods left, returning to their home planes.   Over the centuries, the people of the world fought wars in the names of certain deities, some attempted to bring them back to Rania, and others tried to ascend to their level, one or two even succeeded. Most carved out a way of life for themselves. Some joining in service to particular Gods and daimon (the lesser gods or demigods of the pantheon), with devoted Clerics and Paladins most notably championing for individual Gods. Most common folk focus their reverence on “the Seven”, being those Gods seen to hold domain over everyday life: Relus, Rae, Mora, Aerich, Nyamene, Viteus, and Nuhaldir. While there are no stories necessarily proving these Seven to be a part of a particular group, they have been considered such an important part of life that other deities aren’t often thought about in most remote areas. There are also those cynical few who have forgotten the Gods and what they once did for the people of Rania, and continue to do via their most trusted Champions.   On the whole, Rania is a polytheistic world, and people acknowledge the presence of the pantheon and will show reverence in some way to all of the Gods, often through superstitions and local practices. It’s very common for somebody to petition a certain deity for help with something they may hold domain over. For example, a local farmer may petition Mora for aid with ensuring their land is fertile each spring, and later petition Rae for a bountiful harvest. The main death ritual sees a family sending the remains of a deceased loved one along a river with offerings made to Viteus to ensure they are well looked after in the afterlife and a coin for the ferrywoman. Somebody may hold to this way of life, or focus their reverence on one or just a few Gods, however they feel called.   Saints are people who’ve done something so great the gods saw fit to anoint them as saints. Not quite demigods, but they become celestial beings, or beings of light.   The pantheon is accepted across Rania as the religion of the world, known as Yuhda, though customs, celebrations, and even who is worshipped can vary (for example, the Common Man’s pantheon focuses on “the Seven”). There are also mystery cults, those secretive religious organisations based on ritual of initiation, mystically identified with a god or handful of Gods. There are malevolent mystery cults across Rania, though there are orders of Monks, Clerics, and Paladins whose life is dedicated to a mystery cult also. There are also a few animistic cultures throughout Rania, including the Orcs of Drutha who primarily strive to live in Mora’s image as a matronly society whilst also following the animistic spirituality that came with them from their days as Gruumsh worshippers. And there are yet those whose worship is on one. The Moon Elves of Nyeth Elunore, for example, focus their reverence on Elunore. Many Paladins and Clerics are also Monotheistic in their practices.  
Below is the list of known deities with their domains divided into “lawful, neutral, and chaotic”, and our “Lesser” Gods (aka Daimon) are the demigods, those that either gained their divinity once the pantheon left Rania or their power and worship has simply dwindled over time.       Lawful
  • Solath - God of the Sun and Light
  • Elunore - Goddess of the Moon, Stars, and Art and Spiders
  • Kela - Goddess of Justice and Honour
  • Relus - God of Order and Society
  • Thoan - God of Fortune and Adventure
  • Rae - Goddess of Agriculture and Healing
  • Mora - Goddess of Motherhood, Fertility, and Joy
  • Novian - Goddess of Peace and Love
  • Embral - God of Fire, Creation
  • Apulia - Goddess of Water, Life, and Serpents
  • Gaheia - Goddess of Earth, Wisdom, and Deer
  • Aerich - God of Air, Protection, and Wolves
  • Nyamene - Goddess of Nature, Wildlife, and the Faewild
  • Viteus - God of Rivers, Death, and Time
  • Phara - Goddess of Fate, Knowledge, the Arcane, and Dragons
  • Nuhaldir - God of Family, Ancestors, and Souls
  • Behemis - God of War and Strength
  • Xevros - God of Trickery, Secrets, and Foxes
  • Nadona - Goddess of Volcanos, Wrath, and Anger
  • Phades - God of Misfortune and Strife
  • Nautia - Goddess of Luck, Oceans and Storms

  Lesser (Daimon)
  • Bob (CN) - God of Cheese and Biscuits
  • Olene (L) - Goddess of the Burdened and Persecuted
  • Taerin (N) - God of Music, Writing, and Wine
  • Syvis (N) - God of the Forests, and the Hunt
  • Commut (CN) - God of Travel, Commerce, and Horses
  • Ilaeryos (C) - God of Thieves and Illusion
  • Khamir (C) - God of Necromancy and Darkness
  • Nakiasha (CE) - Goddess of Tyranny and Oppression

Religious, Pantheon

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild


Please Login in order to comment!