Jiwenia Intro

The world of Jiwenia has an extensive history that can be traced back hundreds of centuries, divided into a series of periods known as eras. In the past, these eras simply happened without any authoritative figure ushering a new era into existence. Historians, though not without disagreements, have universally agreed on the different era names. Unknowingly, this led to not only the creation of The Chronicler, but also resulted in the trend of having historians usher in the different eras.  

The Five Months

The months are divided by the seasons and so there are only five possible months in each year. In order there is: Hat’ein, the month of magic, Monsuna, which is spring, Smoten is the summer month, Beasxos is autumn, and Celesow, which is the winter month. A new year ends with Celesow and starts with Hat’ein. Each month is officially announced by the High Doyen of the kingdom.  
  • On average, Celesow and Smoten are the longest of the months, while Hat’ein is the shortest. However, depending on the area, the month’s length will differ. Hat’ein, despite where one lives, is always the shortest and due to it being a worldwide season, is universally the same length.
    • 1 year in Jiwenia = 468 days
      • This number is universal. What is not universal is how many days each month may contain. For example, Paisa’s Celesow month can last 54 days while Pryce’s Celesow month can equal 102 days. This will simply mean that another season which is short in Paisa, will be longer in Pryce. Using this example, Smoten in Paisa is considerably longer than Pryce's, balancing everything out.
    • Usually when the month’s change, an announcement goes out, though many that farm or rely on the land can guess it on their own. There are also some animals and species that can sense the shift.
      • The shifting of the month is usually learned through magical means, though there are more practical ways of learning. For example, the first snowfall marks the first day of Celesow. While the first change in color of the flora marks the first day of Beasxos. The first rainfall marks Monsuna. The magic meteor shower that can be seen across the entire planet lets those know that Hat'ein is upon them. Smoten is usually the only true season that must be announced.
  • The seasons’ names were created by the Maji.


There are two different ways that the dates can appear.
  • Past Eras: For eras already named, an individual will typically see the initials after the number. So, the fifteenth year of the Era of Harmony will be written out as 15EH or 15 Harmony. If an individual is being far more specific and is using months, then it will appear as 15EH/Harmony, Celesow. Though it is uncommon due to insignificance, some will also put the day of the month, which looks like 15EH/Harmony, Celesow 102.
  • Current Eras: For those writing dates in the current time it will either appear simply as the year of the era followed by the month, 5 Celesow, or with the named period of that era being used. Because the periods are named after the current Arch Doyen it is quite easy to place the period to an era for future reference, it would be written as Theodas Celesow or Theodas 5 Celesow.
  • It is also possible to see dates written as 3:136 Smoten. The first number represents the current era, in this example it's the Era of Blood which is the third recorded era. The 136 represents the year of the era, and Smoten represents the current month. This way of writing dates is one of the most popular as it allows quicker notes and takes away the need for others to figure out the chronological order of the eras.  

    Eras and Periods

    An era, classified under The Chronicler Guild, is made up of two centuries (though for the Era of Divide and Blood there is an exception). The current Arch Doyen is responsible for naming each new era and officially ushering in the new one. Naming usually is influenced by a number of things such as significant events, symbolic themes appearing, etc. For example, the Era of Harmony was named as such due to the end of all major wars, the Arch Doyen believing this was a symbol of peaceful times to come.   When choosing an era's name it is put to a vote where the majority rules. If the era name is denied, the Arch Doyen simply comes up with another. Though it has never happened, the rule that after five submissions, the vote will then be had between the five submitted names, and one of the five will be chosen. The only eras that were not named under this system was The Beginning, Era of Divide, and Era of Blood.   Each era is made up of at least one period, named after the current Arch Doyen. Because of this, there is a chance for there to be multiple periods due to the death of the one currently holding the title. For example, if an Arch Doyen was to pass in the middle of an era. The day of the newly appointed one will start a new period. Through this, those who keep track of dates can better place events and create timelines.   Thus far there has been a total of 8 eras, not counting The Beginning.  
    • The Beginning (before 1 ED): The time period before the first named and recorded era, Era of Divide. Most events of this time are species being founded as well as the rough estimates of when it is believed that events done by deities were at its highest.
    • Era of Divide (1-100ED): Characterized by the majority of species breaking apart and forming into smaller groups, clans, and tribes.
    • Era of Blood (1-150EB): Much like its name suggests, this is the time period where most of the kingdoms came to be, as well as where the most wars and battles took place. The most notable wars being the War of Pryce, Siege of Embermore, and The Liberation War.
    • Era of Harmony (1-200EH): After an entire era filled with fighting, Jiwenia finally sees years of peace. Though that is not to say that Harmony was without it’s struggles, it was predominantly a peaceful era. This is also the first era to be named by The Chronicler and having a period. The first Arch Doyen was a Kren and the period respectively named: Lathai’uin.
    • Era of the Nomad (1-200EN): The only era whose title is still debated over, mostly because of what it was named after. It was during this era that the Ishania War took place, a war that ravaged Iseuzai, displacing thousands. Many of those uprooted turned to a nomadic life as settling down was out of the question as the war began to take over the entire continent. This war led to hundreds of other skirmishes across the planet between Kre, Uqanan, and Phaizarn.
    • Era of the Veil (1-200EV):
    • Era of the Cimmerians (1-200EC): This era began with the The Soulless Genocide and the Cimmerian Invasion. Two periods happened in this era.
    • Era of the Tempest (1-200ET): An odd era that was not only defined by the Cimmerians continuing war and the multiple wars taking place, but also an odd storm that began in Hat'ein. While typically a meteor shower starts it, a storm that ravaged most areas took place leaving many places leveled and to weak to resist the Cimmerians. This and many other occurrences caused many to believe that the Gods had deserted them.

    • 69



      Second Clan War
      Military action

      The Second Clan War was nearly a one year war fought between the multiple Phaizarn houses. Far bloodier and destructive than the first, the war began due to rising tensions between House Chunae and House Dragon as well as House Great Stag and House Basilisk.

    • 100

      Alyrian Arrival
      Population Migration / Travel

      Alyrians arrive on the Dead Lands, killing and running the Cimmerians to the dark steppes and claiming the continent as theirs. They rename the Dead Lands to the Kingdom of Pryce, after their first king.


    Please Login in order to comment!