Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

The Cosmic Empire

  The Cosmic Empire is far and away the most powerful nation in the known world. Proudly founded by the high elves during the Second Age, this now-metropolitan hub of civilization covers the entire eastern coast of upper Illadae.


The Empire functions with a feudal monarchy government structure; sections of the greater empire are divided up into provinces to be governed by a Viceroy (Called a Vízora in the elven tongue). There are nine total provinces, eight of which are governed by Viceroys who all answer to the Empress and the Praetorian Court, who govern from the ninth central province. The aristocratic hierarchy of the cosmic empire goes as follows:

Sovereign Nobility
Zaerus. More commonly called Empress, or more poetically, the Star Empress. The zaerus rules from crowning until death or self-abdication with absolute authority. She is granted the council of the Praetorian court as advisers, but her word is final and her word is law. The proper form of address for a zaerus is "Her Majesty."
Archpraetor. Also called Lhín’protha in elvish, this is the name given to the heir of the throne while the zaerus is still alive and ruling. They technically have no greater power than a praetor other than some additional ceremonial significance.
Praetor. Also called Protha in elvish, these are the titles borne by members of the Praetorian court. These are most often the family members of the current dynastic bloodline or close friends married into or personally appointed to the court by the zaerus. The proper form of address for a praetor or archpraetor is "Her/His Highness."

(The proper form of address for any of the standard nobility is "Her/His Grace.")
Viceroy. Also called Vízora in elvish, a viceroy is the hereditary leader of one of the provinces of the empire. They have freedom to govern as they please as long as they conform to certain laws and degrees put forth by the Empress and the Praetorian court. They typically take up their main residence in the capital of the province they govern.
Regula. Written Regyula in elvish. An imperial province is typically split up even further into holds consisting of a city or two and several towns, of which a regula will find herself in charge of. She typically is expected to carry out maintain the laws put forth by the provincial viceroy, and though she has some governing wiggle-room, it isn't nearly as much as those granted to the viceroys. A regula will typically take up residence in a hold's namesake city.
Graf. Also called Gradár in elvish, a graf's region of governance is locked at a municipal level; they might have sovereignty over a city (if the hold is big enough to have more cities other than the hold capital) or a large town.
Vidame. Also called Vemra in elvish, a vidame can typically lay claim to a small town as their area of governance, or perhaps a sequence of hamlets; the low peg overall on the chain of nobility typically means their potential territory is eaten up by other imperial nobility. Vidame is also the highest form of noble ranking that can be granted by a viceroy.

(The proper form of address for any of the gentry is "Her/His Lordship.")
Highlord. Also called Lealith in elvish is a high form of gentry typically given to wealthy, venerated citizens or those who gain the favor of a viceroy or a regula. It is also the highest title grantable by a regula.
Midlord. Also called a Dailith in elvish, and as its name suggests, this is the middle-level among the imperial genry. It is also the highest title grantable by a Graf.
Lord. Also called Lith in elvish, this is the lowest form of aristocracy in the empire; they typically have no greater influence than an estate and whatever assets they have previously. This is also the only title grantable by a vidame.


Ruling Dynasties

Soregame Dynasty. (413-1002, 2nd Age)
  • Loromíra (413-1002 2A). The first empress of the Cosmic Empire and the only empress of the Soregame dynasty.
Galagame Dynasty. (1003-2368, 2nd Age)
  • Hinamiel (1003-1338 2A).
  • Naladis (1338-1573 2A).
  • Elora (1573-1901 2A).
  • Sídia the Wise (1901-2368 2A). Assassinated.
Míragame Dynasty. (2369-5135, 2nd Age)
  • Ális (2369-2583 2A).
  • Manuin (2583-3081 2A).
  • Taviel (3081-3496 2A).
  • Tiriel (3497-3824 2A).
  • Liluin (3824-3935 2A). Death from sickness.
  • Elora II (3935-4348 2A).
  • Deledra (4349-4577 2A).
  • Osmíra the Great (4578-5113 2A). Self-Abdicated. Then died from broken heart.
  • Shilora (5113-5135 2A). Death from Ailment.
Yensagame Dynasty. (5136-5998, 2nd Age)
  • Viridis (5136-5367 2A).
  • Amniel (5368-5725 2A).
  • Sídia II (5716-5936 2A). Presumed assassination by Praetorian Court.
  • Mávara (5936-5998 2A). Assassinated by Tanagame agents.
Tanagame Dynasty. (5998-6666, 2nd Age)
  • Adoniel I (5998-6413 2A).
  • Adoniel II (6413-6666 2A). Killed along with all heirs during the Centuries of Damn.
Zeragame Dynasty. (6670 2A - Present)
  • Málandis the Hopebringer (6670-7097 2A). Bastion of hope during Centuries of Damn.
  • Numíra "New-Age Empress" (0-511 3A).
  • Liluin II (512-986 3A).
  • Dramiel (986-1025 3A).
  • Amesthra (1025-Present 3A).


The Imperial Military consists of three branches: the Legion, the Ward , and the Inquisition. Each of these branches fulfills a broad purpose to the empire's military needs and typically has several subdivisions within the branch for more specific tasks. It is not uncommon for branches of the military to cooperate for many tasks and objectives, but their formal distinction from one another is recognized.

Imperial Legion

The Empire's main standing army; broadly speaking, the Legion's duties lie in fulfilling the empire's needs of war-time offense conquest. Their duties frequently overlap with those of the Imperial Ward. Soldiers within the Legion are referred to as "legionnaires."

Imperial Ward

The Empire's main internal protection agency; broadly speaking, the Ward's duties include law enforcement, personal escort and guardianship, and war-time home defense. Soldiers within the Ward are referred to as "Wardens."

Imperial Inquisition

The Empire's security and intelligence agency; broadly speaking, the Inquisition's duties are managing espionage, criminal investigation, or any covert activities necessitated by the Empire. Soldiers within the Inquisition are referred to as "Inquisitors."

"One Empire, built by the grace of stars, under nothing."

Founding Date
413, 2nd Age
Geopolitical, Empire
Alternative Names
The Empire
Head of State
Záras Amesthra Zeragame
Government System
Monarchy, Absolute
Power Structure
Feudal state
Economic System
Silver Pentacle
Subsidiary Organizations
Neighboring Nations
Notable Members
Related Ethnicities

Remove these ads. Join the Worldbuilders Guild

Articles under The Cosmic Empire

Guild Feature

Display your locations, species, organizations and so much more in a tree structure to bring your world to life!


Please Login in order to comment!