The Arcana Dominum

As the Reign of Kings came upon the Known World, Bærwynnd went to the Vale of Talanor and built the Bright Tower, which became the epicenter of divination. He named himself the First Hazard of Talanor and the tower was a bastion of knowledge where all those trained in the arcane arts could come and hone their craft.   Soon the wizards began to organize themselves by different orders of magic, based on the effect that the Ether produced. They spread out across the world with the heads of each order naming themselves Hazards and gathering their apprentices. Even as magic talents began to surface in mortals less schooled in the art of magic as a sorcerer, an alchemist, an arcanist, a magus, a summoner, or perhaps a witch, the orders of magic became known and accepted.  

The Sodalities

  Each order of magic, known eventually as the Sodalities, has a different system to admit and rank all the wizards dedicated to that Sodality. Bærwynnd's designation as the first hazard of Talanor is due to the fact that he is the first one to hold that title. As Sivantanpisil is the 12th Hazard of Pyrae, he was the twelfth person in history to hold that title. Every Sodality has its own process to admit members into its ranks. It is not necessary for a wizard to join the Sodality of his order. But there are benefits and burdens if he or she so chooses. Several times throughout history Bärwynnd as called a Gathering of the Hazards where all of them have met to take counsel with each other.  

Sodáliti Väta

  The Sodáliti Väta, the Sodality of the Sentinel, was first established by the Noble Elves in Baren’del in 1678 E.C. Following the kingdom's demise the seat of the Sodality was re-established in Greyton within [[Structure - Tower of Magic | Barad'Ósta]] , however, the numbering of the Hazard's was not reset. Currently, Kaynor of House Alithiangard is the 23rd Hazard of Greyton. HIs apprentice, Grînegôr Darkscale, is the Pro-Hazard.  

Sodālitas Sei

  The seat of the order of conjuration can be traced back to the Shrine of the Summoner high in the Iron Mountains during the Godling Wars. Following a massive earthquake caused by Mylesar's assault on Gaeruhn's refuge. Following the war, advanced studies of conjuration centered on the iconic city of Earthenwork within the Kingdom of Haemil. In the upper city of Earthenwork, lies [[Structure - Tower of Conjuration | Cälaturrim, Tower of the Conjurer]]. The tower is home to Sodālitas Sei, the Sodality of Being. Currently, the gnome, Rhykal, is the 16th Hazard of Haemil.  

Visum Sodalitate

  Since its construction in 315 E.C., the [[Structure - Bright Tower | Bright Tower]] in the Vale of Talanor has been the seat of the Visum Sodalitate, the Sodality of Vision. Bærwynnd, the Diviner, has been heralded as the First Hazard of Talanor since its formation.   Bærwynnd has set forth five tenants to be followed among them members of his order.   # Competence must be proven to the Hazard to call oneself a Proven Diviner. # Knowledge shall be shared among all the Proven who seek it. # Should a Hazard return to the Ether in spirit, all of the Proven shall vote for a new Hazard. # All of the Proven shall pledge fealty to the Order and none other. # Divination through death is strictly forbidden.   Bærwynnd resides in Talanor, the Bright Tower, and has established it the home to the Proven. He has taken many apprentices over the years, tending to keep three to four in training at all times. The Proven are admitted through a test of their capabilities. The Hazard is elected by popular vote of all members. However, since Bærwynnd is the first and only Hazard, no vote has yet to take place.    

Sodaliti Fascínaré

  The Sodaliti Fascínaré, the Sodality of Charm, has never established a formal seat or location. Rather, they seem to live and interact in nearly every city and culture in Æustëria. Currently, Yinare is the Hazard of Enchantment, however, she has never been seen by non-members of the Sodality, as is the case with every Hazard of Enchantment save those two enchanters that heeded Bærwynnd's call for a Gathering.  

Sásamh Cûmhácht

  Currently, Zylstra is the 77th Hazard of Quonos and the head of the Sásamh Cûmhácht, the Sodality of Power. The title of Evoker has been split between the Hazards of Quonos and First Haven until the destruction of the Kingdom of Esteparon and the burning of First Haven. Since then, the title has been kept exclusively by the Hazards of Quonos.  

Sodâlté Lómin

  The Sodâlté Lómin, the Sodality of Shadow, is led by Hildebrandt is the 51st Hazard of Exeter. Exeter was an island of the southern coast of the shores of Greyton. The island is hidden by illusion with only those granted permission to arrive by the Hazard, being capable of finding the mysterious island.  

Mortèm Sodälitate

  Currently, Sivantanpisil is the 12th Hazard of Pyrae. As the head of Mortèm Sodälitate, the Sodality of Death, Sivantanpisil has worked to remove the stigma of the Sodality. Originally, the title of Hazard of Necromancy was used by the head of the Sodality. However, the title was vacated several thousand years ago after Stoorjian, the Necromancer, turned the art of necromancy into an evil and vile trade. The [[Structure - Tower of Necromancy | Tower of Necromancy]] at Pyrae was sealed by Bærwynnd and the other Hazards following the death of Stoorjian. An elven wizard named Mälekoor reclaimed the tower and the Sodality in 7682 E.C., naming himself the Hazard of Pyrae.  

Sodalità d'Altéazi

  Sodalità d'Altéazi, the Sodality of the Altered, is headed by Derdarian Kagurkh, the 19th Hazard of Axteil. As the first hobgoblin hazard in history, he is revered in the Kingdom of Avendale and considered a hero of great renown amongst the hobgoblin populace.


Please Login in order to comment!